Reviews

  • review rating 0  Pooler Karate is the best! I work here and I love being a part of what the school does for the community. Carson is such a passionate business owner unlike most, he truly loves his students and their families and I am so blessed to be a part of this school. We offer classes to any and everyone of all ages and abilities! God has truly blessed us and our school <3

    thumb Millie Orme
    4/15/2019

    review rating 5  We've been making the drive out to Carson Fortner's Karate from Whitmarsh Island for almost a year now and cannot say how much we love him and his whole team. We never thought about Karate as an option till one of our friends suggested the free trial. One class and our daughter was completely hooked. She has become such an empowered little girl and responds really well to the discipline that he instills in them. We've continued his teachings of respect and self confidence at home and have seen an improvement in her behavior. She looks forward to going to Karate and practicing her moves at home. I cannot recommend taking your child to his studio and reaping the benefits that come with it.

    thumb Dawn Cahill Brosnan
    3/15/2017

    review rating 5  Great with kids, awesome Krav Maga for adults. Tons of special events and skilled trainers. Love it.

    thumb Jaro Cenkl
    11/17/2017

    review rating 0  attended their free women's self defense seminar today and I can't wait to get back!!! the trainers are amazing and ensure your comfort at every level but I walked out of there with way more confidence than what I had walked in with! I got to see my 12 year old daughter learn how to defend herself and it was AMAZING!! I would HIGHLY recommend Carson and his team who love their community and desire to keep it safe!! you won't regret spending your money here!!!

    thumb Lotus Angel
    7/27/2019

    review rating 5  My son's favorite activity! I'm amazed at how patient they are with the kids and I'm impressed at how my very active 3 and a half year old son pays attention for a good 30 minutes!

    thumb Lana Makkawi
    4/21/2017

    review rating 5  Carson and his staff are the best instructors. Doesnt matter if they are working with the average kid or one with special needs. They always know what to do to get through to them in a way that they can learn. They are very patient with the younger ones, making sure it's a positive experience for everyone, while still being tough on them and teaching them self control and self discipline.

    thumb Nick Williams
    3/22/2017

    review rating 5  Mr. Carson and his crew are simply amazing! I am beyond impressed not only with their teaching skills but their patience and overall positive attitude. I love it!

    thumb Koral Bernal
    10/16/2015

    review rating 5  I can't say enough good things about Carson and his staff. There is a passion for kids of all ages and all abilities. My 5 year has grown in confidence , self control, and obedience over a few months. He loves going to practice and the rewards (belts) are earned rather than given out like sport trophies. He knows he has to work hard and he has big dreams for one day achieving a full black belt.

    thumb Samantha Krick
    5/23/2016

    review rating 0  Mr Carson has great teaching techniques of increasing your child's self esteem, discipline, respect and keeping them physically active day to day. He and all his black belts are great and set an excellent example in teaching our child. You can tell they really care about what they are doing in molding their students. We have noticed an appreciable difference in our child since he started there. He loves going to his classes, enjoys interacting with his teachers and other students, and we have noticed the examples taught from the school in him.

    thumb Doug Davidowski
    12/01/2018
  • review rating 0  Friendly, knowledgeable staff. I am so glad that we entrusted Carson to teach our boys such a valuable skill.

    thumb Skip Brackett
    3/22/2019

    review rating 5  Mr. Carson and his staff are truly amazing. Since my son has started karate here, he has learned so much self control, how to defend himself and discipline. Bringing him here was such a good decision and I look forward to see what else my son learns from Mr. Carson.

    thumb Dililah Velez
    3/29/2017

    review rating 5  My son absolutely loves going to karate here and Carson and the whole staff are always so pleasant and go out if the way to make you feel welcome!We're so thankful for the special needs program.It has blessed our son so much!!

    thumb Anita Colleen Akins Bubnich
    5/02/2017

    review rating 0  My five year old almost has his black belt. At first, I was completely against this. It’s expensive (it’s really not though if you break it down per class) and there’s a contract. But from the second we walked in and we’re greeted by the AMAZING front desk staff I knew I might have to bite the bullet. 5 minutes into our first class, I texted my husband and said, “I don’t care how much it costs, we. Are. Doing. This.” He has grown so much in the last 10 months. He’s more confident, more self controlled, more respectful. It’s absolutely amazing!!! The teachers work with the kids and you can tell they really love them and take the time with each child to help them learn the moves. I would recommend this 110%.

    thumb Robin Butwan
    7/22/2019

    review rating 5  We love this place and the entire staff! Mr. Carson and the rest of the crew do great with the kids. I love the toughness they bring as well as the kindness. I highly recommend Carson Fortners pooler karate!! Go little ninjas 🙂

    thumb Jocelyn Aguilar
    3/24/2017

    review rating 5  I took my 2 year old here yesterday for his first class. He was tired and overwhelmed and fussed a good bit, but Carson made us feel welcome anyway. Both instructors went out of there way to get him to warm up and participate and I was very impressed with the structure, discipline and enthusiasm they showed to all the kids there. We will definitely be regulars!

    thumb Kitt Dobry
    5/24/2017

    review rating 5  Carson in all of the other instructors are very friendly. They have taught my two kids a lot of things in the 6 months that they have been attending.

    thumb Greg Brandy
    3/28/2017

    review rating 5  Very professional very friendly school kids love it. My kids look forward to karate everyday and cant wait to go and learn from my opinion the bedt instructors around.

    thumb Thomas Kent
    1/29/2018

    review rating 5  It is such a great facility for the children. The staff is amazing and they can have fun in class but also teach discipline at the same time! It is exactly what my daughter needed and she love that place

    thumb Manisha Kulkarni
    4/28/2016
  • review rating 5  Amazing! I have a 19 year old son who has autism and Carson and Matt tailor their instruction to meet his needs. All staff are top notch!

    thumb Lisa Waters Waters
    7/15/2017

    review rating 0  Was in town for the weekend and stopped in for a Saturday open mat. All the guys were welcoming and no big egos. Technical and fun rolls. 👍👍

    thumb Will Banks
    11/24/2018

    review rating 5  Pooler Karate is amazing! My 4 boys (ages 2-7) all go and have learned a tremendous amount. The training is excellent for children even as young as 2 years!!! The staff truly care and work with the kids to build their self-esteem. A major plus is the self-defense that they learn. The facility is great. The instructors are excellent! Would highly recommend to anyone even beginners!!!

    thumb Jessica Jenkins Castro
    4/27/2017

    review rating 5  It is such a great facility for the children!!!!! The staff is amazing and they can have fun in class but also teach discipline at the same time! It is exactly what my son needed and he cannot wait to go to class every week.

    thumb Kassie Pasztor-Jones
    4/26/2016

    review rating 5  Fantastic school, incredible staff. The school is all-inclusive with Carson's wonderful Special Kicks program for those with special needs, Lil Ninjas for 2-5 year olds, and Tang Soo Do. My daughter has been a student for almost a year and loves it. Krav Maga and Brazilian Jui-jistu classes are also offered.

    thumb Heather Trevino-Brower
    10/01/2016

    review rating 5  Master Carson and his team are absolutely wonderful. Some people have a natural ability to reach children in a way some can't. Children learn so much more than karate. They teach them disciple, listening skills, courage and on and on. Our grandson absolutely loves it. I can't say enough about this City of Pooler business other than check it out. You and your child will be so glad you did.

    thumb Karen L. Williams
    1/19/2018

    review rating 5  Training here was a real pleasure. Great staff and trainers who are very knowledgeable. Very family oriented and consistent. I would recommend this gym for all ages.

    thumb Zach LeBlanc
    8/02/2018

    review rating 5  Enrolling our two boys at Pooler Karate is one of the best decisions that we have made as parents. Master Instructor Carson Fortner has created a family atmosphere that is supportive, disciplined, and focused on the students. His black belt instructors are fantastic ambassadors for the school. With Pooler Karate, your children are not just taking a class, they are joining a family.

    thumb Bobby McNamara
    1/31/2018

    review rating 0  Pooler karate is the best place to go I’ve been there for 4 years and I’m now going every day

    thumb Miguel Lopez
    8/22/2019
  • review rating 5  My son was super shy when he started but the entire staff made him feel safe and comfortable. We love Carson and I suggest him to everyone we know!

    thumb Ashley Konesko
    3/21/2017

    review rating 0  the contract and the expenses

    thumb Suzanne Simmons
    3/15/2019

    review rating 5  I love this place and the instructor's. If you're looking for great mentors in addition for a great karate place in Pooler this is the one.

    thumb Iesha Poochymama Miller
    4/28/2016

    review rating 0  This is going to be a long review but I feel that I have to write it so get ready. We registered our son on 2017 when we moved to Savannah and lived here for 9 months then moved to a different State and moved back to Savannah this year. My son was a very introverted and had difficulty socializing with kids. We tried Play and learn at Gymboree, My Gym, Library activities, art classes ( back home) but he couldn't cope with them, I was very frustrated and worried that nothing was working. We end up moving to Savannah and started Karate it was amazing! how he started blossoming he was not afraid of being in front and surrounded of other kids. The instructors are Great! they have the balance of being fun and at the same time strict and disciplined, the kids are not afraid of them...the kids respect them and loved them. We moved to another State and move back to Savannah and guess what? there he is again at Pooler Karate, my son is every day more confident, discipline and focused, we love this place!

    thumb Katherine J Taype
    3/25/2019

    review rating 5  Its awesome i used to go there

    thumb Joshua Hunt
    2/25/2014

    review rating 5  I have been student of Pooler Karate from 2013 and have been enjoying being part of it .Pooler Karate has helped me in different ways ,it has taught me to control my body has made me more disciplined. I love my instructors Mr. Carson Fortner and Ms. Joni.

    thumb Ayush Verma
    4/23/2016

    review rating 0  Exceptional staff with top notch instructors.Offers a variety of programs for kids to Krav. Instructors are involved and engaging. After the first week I won't take my son anywhere else. Yes, they're that good. ~Vegas Prime

    thumb Vegas Prime
    4/02/2019

    review rating 5  Mr Carson Fortner and his staff are undoubtedly the best in Savannah. Not only are they great with the kids they truly care for their students and our community. In our time here at Pooler Karate we have seen incredible positive changes in our kids. Their confidence and self assurance has increased exponentially.

    thumb Fernando Sanchez
    4/20/2016

    review rating 5  Best Karate school ever!!!!! Carson is an AMAZING instructor & fantastic with ALL the kids!!!! His Special Kicks program is incredible!!!!!!!

    thumb Brenda Smith
    6/28/2014