Reviews

  • review rating 5  My son loves it here. They go above and beyond with everyone, not just the students. I have never been in a place where the instructors come and shake everyone's hand to say hello, every single day! The instructors each bring a unique personality to the place but ALL share a common love of truly helping better people. I recently moved an hour away and am dragging my feet about pulling my son when time comes but truth be told, I may just grit and bear the hour long drive to keep my son in what works!

    thumb Simone Lindo
    3/25/2017

    review rating 5  My children have been taking Tang Soo Do at Pooler Karate for over 3 years. Carson is an amazing instructor and a positive role model.

    thumb Lisa Maxwell Denton
    10/29/2015

    review rating 5  My son's favorite activity! I'm amazed at how patient they are with the kids and I'm impressed at how my very active 3 and a half year old son pays attention for a good 30 minutes!

    thumb Lana Makkawi
    4/21/2017

    review rating 5  I have studied 6 styles of the martial arts with black belts in 3. Carson's IS by far the best school I've ever been part of. His decision to follow: 1. What Chuck Norris brought back from S. Korea, 2. Grand Master Ichikawa who improved Chuck's system, 3. Grand Master Cox who intermixed Krav Maga to increase effectiveness, 4. Brazilian Jiu Jitsu to better handle the inevitable ground fight, has improved our lives in sooo many ways. I give it 5 stars because there is not a 6 star option. Joe McNamee

    thumb Joe McNamee
    5/13/2018

    review rating 0  By far the only place I recommend for your karate and self defense needs. The staff is knowledgeable and go far beyond what you expect. ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️ ⭐️.

    thumb Timothy Goros
    8/21/2019

    review rating 5  My son has been doing karate with Carson and staff for over a year. I have been doing it for about 8 months. My husband and daughter attend the different seminars. We have been more than pleased with all staff and the school in general. There are plenty of karate places where we live but we drive an hour each way to get to Pooler Karate because we truly feel they offer the best. They really care about the kids and about proper instruction of matial arts.

    thumb Angel Coughlin
    8/29/2016

    review rating 5  Mr. Carson and his crew are simply amazing! I am beyond impressed not only with their teaching skills but their patience and overall positive attitude. I love it!

    thumb Koral Bernal
    10/16/2015

    review rating 5  If you asked me awhile back about my son who's special needs joining a karate class I would have laughed. We had the privilege of meeting some of the instructors at the night to shine prom. We entered for a chance to win a month free. My son did!! He's been attending for almost 2 months now. We were told we will get a application for him to attend it free with him having a disability. He finally got approved today they never let him miss a class even after a month. You feel like a family there. Your greeted every time you attend, they give the people who need the extra time learning a move the attention. My son loves Pooler karate. I've met other parents and some wonderful students and staff. Thank you Pooler karate!!!!

    thumb Darla Pattison
    4/18/2018

    review rating 5  Women's self-defense....Great class tonight! Thanks for the training and having women instructors at the event. It made it more comforting and inspirational.

    thumb Sharlisa Gallagher
    6/24/2017
  • review rating 5  Carson in all of the other instructors are very friendly. They have taught my two kids a lot of things in the 6 months that they have been attending.

    thumb Greg Brandy
    3/28/2017

    review rating 5  All three of my children and I attend Mr. Carson's school. Carson and his staff teach with a combination of stern discipline, love and humor. I always look forward to my class. I was a total beginner at 43!

    thumb Veronica Leigh Morris
    5/20/2016

    review rating 0  Great instructors. So much fun and a great workout.

    thumb Kathy McAfee Heck
    6/01/2019

    review rating 5  My son loves Pooler Karate and all of the instructors! He has learned so much in as short time and is his favorite activity.he looks forward to every class, listens and follows the instructions. Every instructor knows how to teach the kids and do a great job making it a learning & fun environment. Love it!

    thumb Michael Mora
    1/30/2018

    review rating 5  It is such a great facility for the children. The staff is amazing and they can have fun in class but also teach discipline at the same time! It is exactly what my daughter needed and she love that place

    thumb Manisha Kulkarni
    4/28/2016

    review rating 0  At first I thought my son wouldn’t follow instructions or that he would be all over the place. But the instructors are wonderful with all the kids, and help them when needed and more importantly are patient with them. Al inició pense que mi hijo no sería capaz de seguir instrucciones o no se estaría quieto. Pero los instructores son grandiosos con ellos, los ayudan cuando lo necesitan y sobre todo son pacientes con ellos.

    thumb Ana Luisa Garcia Sotelo
    2/27/2019

    review rating 5  Pooler Karate is amazing! My 4 boys (ages 2-7) all go and have learned a tremendous amount. The training is excellent for children even as young as 2 years!!! The staff truly care and work with the kids to build their self-esteem. A major plus is the self-defense that they learn. The facility is great. The instructors are excellent! Would highly recommend to anyone even beginners!!!

    thumb Jessica Jenkins Castro
    4/27/2017

    review rating 0  Just amazing! I highly recommend! My middle child has autism and hates doing anything that doesn’t involve a TV or phone. But he absolutely LOVES karate, and it’s all thanks to everyone there and how wonderful they are. All 3 of my children go here and all of them love it!

    thumb Miranda Herrington Barnard
    9/07/2019

    review rating 0  I Have the family plan ,I love it ... All the instructors are so nice and welcoming yet strict when needed with the kids ... Definitely recommend this place ... Carson and his team are AMAZING!!! ❤️

    thumb Paola Yamilleth Rios Mendez
    10/25/2018
  • review rating 5  Mr Carson Fortner and his staff are undoubtedly the best in Savannah. Not only are they great with the kids they truly care for their students and our community. In our time here at Pooler Karate we have seen incredible positive changes in our kids. Their confidence and self assurance has increased exponentially.

    thumb Fernando Sanchez
    4/20/2016

    review rating 5  Carson and his staff are the best instructors. Doesnt matter if they are working with the average kid or one with special needs. They always know what to do to get through to them in a way that they can learn. They are very patient with the younger ones, making sure it's a positive experience for everyone, while still being tough on them and teaching them self control and self discipline.

    thumb Nick Williams
    3/22/2017

    review rating 0  So far my grandson is in love with Pooler Karate. I love the discipline and instruction he receives from each instructor. His little mind has absorbed so much information in such a short amount of time! I love watching him each time I get to take him!

    thumb Susannah Hinely Dixon
    7/28/2018

    review rating 5  My son has excelled in the little ninjas program. I have seen a difference in his behavior manners and self confidence. Carson and his staff have been great!

    thumb Allison Garfield
    4/20/2016

    review rating 0  Great martial arts school for anyone the young instructors like Mathew is great with the kids he bonds with the young ones and makes it fun to learn even though it’s hard for some I’m just very happy I brought my son here he’s learned discipline, respect, self control towards adults and others and my son loves it.

    thumb Richard Santangelo
    3/21/2019

    review rating 0  Great school with an even better staff!! 5 stars

    thumb Chris Archer
    5/08/2019

    review rating 0  attended their free women's self defense seminar today and I can't wait to get back!!! the trainers are amazing and ensure your comfort at every level but I walked out of there with way more confidence than what I had walked in with! I got to see my 12 year old daughter learn how to defend herself and it was AMAZING!! I would HIGHLY recommend Carson and his team who love their community and desire to keep it safe!! you won't regret spending your money here!!!

    thumb Lotus Angel
    7/27/2019

    review rating 5  My son started doing karate with Mr. Carson back in August and it immediately became something that would completely light up his world. Only 2 months later my daughter, who weekly would watch her brother come and participate and LOVE it, also joined. It really has become like a second home and a perfect addition to the concept that it truly takes a village to raise a child!

    thumb Kristina Fusari
    3/08/2017

    review rating 5  I really enjoyed visiting yesterday to watch the testing for belts! It was a great experience and the discipline and respect shown and taught by Carson Fortner and his staff was top notch. The place was well kept, clean and a very positive atmosphere. I would encourage anyone looking for martial arts training to look no further because THIS is the place to be!

    thumb Kevin Goss
    4/02/2016
  • review rating 0  This is going to be a long review but I feel that I have to write it so get ready. We registered our son on 2017 when we moved to Savannah and lived here for 9 months then moved to a different State and moved back to Savannah this year. My son was a very introverted and had difficulty socializing with kids. We tried Play and learn at Gymboree, My Gym, Library activities, art classes ( back home) but he couldn't cope with them, I was very frustrated and worried that nothing was working. We end up moving to Savannah and started Karate it was amazing! how he started blossoming he was not afraid of being in front and surrounded of other kids. The instructors are Great! they have the balance of being fun and at the same time strict and disciplined, the kids are not afraid of them...the kids respect them and loved them. We moved to another State and move back to Savannah and guess what? there he is again at Pooler Karate, my son is every day more confident, discipline and focused, we love this place!

    thumb Katherine J Taype
    3/25/2019

    review rating 5  Carson and his dojo are amazing. My son who has autism, social anxiety, and leg braces attended while we lived in Pooler. The staff has such patience and love with all the students! My son thrived here and always felt a part of a team. He was so excited for every class! We haven't found anything to compare.

    thumb Michelle Patterson
    4/15/2017

    review rating 2  Check out the picture of their truck parked in the handicapped parking ramp so the wheelchairs can't get on to the sidewalk. WTOC John Logano's Face book page!

    thumb Margaret Roberts
    3/22/2015

    review rating 5  My son absolutely loves going to karate here and Carson and the whole staff are always so pleasant and go out if the way to make you feel welcome!We're so thankful for the special needs program.It has blessed our son so much!!

    thumb Anita Colleen Akins Bubnich
    5/02/2017

    review rating 0  We have been with Carson Fortner’s Pooler karate for almost a year. It has changed our families life for the better. We are healthier enjoying learning martial arts. Our kids have learned so much that have helped them handle situations at school and at home.

    thumb Kristen Marie Tripp
    7/23/2018

    review rating 5  Its awesome i used to go there

    thumb Joshua Hunt
    2/25/2014

    review rating 5  Kids love it. Started in November and they always look forward to it.

    thumb Jon Jewett
    2/01/2018

    review rating 5  First day of Krav Maga and I'm completely wore out. I found my new calling. Thank you! #kravmaga

    thumb Gene Schadler
    7/12/2016

    review rating 5  I can't say enough good things about Carson and his staff. There is a passion for kids of all ages and all abilities. My 5 year has grown in confidence , self control, and obedience over a few months. He loves going to practice and the rewards (belts) are earned rather than given out like sport trophies. He knows he has to work hard and he has big dreams for one day achieving a full black belt.

    thumb Samantha Krick
    5/23/2016