Reviews

  • review rating 5  Carson Fortner and Pooler Karate have been such a blessing to my lil man Maddox! He has come such a long way in the year and half he has been involved with the Special Kicks program. Karate is his favorite thing to do! Not only has this been a great experience for Maddox but for me as well. Carson, his family and his staff are some of the best people I've ever had the pleasure of knowing.

    thumb Chelly Davis
    2/02/2017

    review rating 5  Amazing! I have a 19 year old son who has autism and Carson and Matt tailor their instruction to meet his needs. All staff are top notch!

    thumb Lisa Waters Waters
    7/15/2017

    review rating 5  If you asked me awhile back about my son who's special needs joining a karate class I would have laughed. We had the privilege of meeting some of the instructors at the night to shine prom. We entered for a chance to win a month free. My son did!! He's been attending for almost 2 months now. We were told we will get a application for him to attend it free with him having a disability. He finally got approved today they never let him miss a class even after a month. You feel like a family there. Your greeted every time you attend, they give the people who need the extra time learning a move the attention. My son loves Pooler karate. I've met other parents and some wonderful students and staff. Thank you Pooler karate!!!!

    thumb Darla Pattison
    4/18/2018

    review rating 5  My son's favorite activity! I'm amazed at how patient they are with the kids and I'm impressed at how my very active 3 and a half year old son pays attention for a good 30 minutes!

    thumb Lana Makkawi
    4/21/2017

    review rating 0  These guys are remarkable! I am so impressed.

    thumb Tracey Hipp Stewart
    3/14/2019

    review rating 0  attended their free women's self defense seminar today and I can't wait to get back!!! the trainers are amazing and ensure your comfort at every level but I walked out of there with way more confidence than what I had walked in with! I got to see my 12 year old daughter learn how to defend herself and it was AMAZING!! I would HIGHLY recommend Carson and his team who love their community and desire to keep it safe!! you won't regret spending your money here!!!

    thumb Lotus Angel
    7/27/2019

    review rating 5  I took a women's self-defense class with Carson. I have to admit that I wasn't terribly excited going into it, but ended up having a ton of fun and learning a lot! I'd highly recommend Pooler Karate to anyone.

    thumb Karalee Sartin
    9/21/2017

    review rating 0  Was in town for the weekend and stopped in for a Saturday open mat. All the guys were welcoming and no big egos. Technical and fun rolls. 👍👍

    thumb Will Banks
    11/24/2018

    review rating 5  It is such a great facility for the children. The staff is amazing and they can have fun in class but also teach discipline at the same time! It is exactly what my daughter needed and she love that place

    thumb Manisha Kulkarni
    4/28/2016
  • review rating 0  Carson and all the instructors are amazing with the kids. Signing my boys up at Pooler Karate was the best thing I ever did for them. We love it!

    thumb Melissa Deines Lopez
    1/24/2019

    review rating 0  Pooler Karate is the best! I work here and I love being a part of what the school does for the community. Carson is such a passionate business owner unlike most, he truly loves his students and their families and I am so blessed to be a part of this school. We offer classes to any and everyone of all ages and abilities! God has truly blessed us and our school <3

    thumb Millie Orme
    4/15/2019

    review rating 5  I have studied 6 styles of the martial arts with black belts in 3. Carson's IS by far the best school I've ever been part of. His decision to follow: 1. What Chuck Norris brought back from S. Korea, 2. Grand Master Ichikawa who improved Chuck's system, 3. Grand Master Cox who intermixed Krav Maga to increase effectiveness, 4. Brazilian Jiu Jitsu to better handle the inevitable ground fight, has improved our lives in sooo many ways. I give it 5 stars because there is not a 6 star option. Joe McNamee

    thumb Joe McNamee
    5/13/2018

    review rating 0  Our 6 year old just started karate class at Carson Fortner’s and he absolutely loves it. No one in our family has ever taken karate classes before, so we were not sure what to expect, 😊😬 but he is having a great time while learning even more about self control, perseverance, how to protect himself and others, as well as respect. We love the class, the teachers are super friendly and all seem to be great with the kids. Carson has gone above and beyond for our son’s special needs, too. The mats are disinfected daily, and facility is super clean. Our 12 year old daughter now wants to join as well! Glad to know they are moving into a brand new facility soon, because I can tell they are so popular, they are outgrowing this one! We love the classes and look forward to being a part of them for a long time! ⭐️

    thumb Stephanie Home Herbalist
    3/29/2019

    review rating 0  Had such an awesome time with the instructors! Learned a lot of helpful tips and I hopefully will end up going again!

    thumb Caroline Allen
    6/01/2019

    review rating 5  Pooler Karate is amazing! My 4 boys (ages 2-7) all go and have learned a tremendous amount. The training is excellent for children even as young as 2 years!!! The staff truly care and work with the kids to build their self-esteem. A major plus is the self-defense that they learn. The facility is great. The instructors are excellent! Would highly recommend to anyone even beginners!!!

    thumb Jessica Jenkins Castro
    4/27/2017

    review rating 0  the contract and the expenses

    thumb Suzanne Simmons
    3/15/2019

    review rating 5  Instructors are awesome and great with kids. My son loves it.

    thumb Brenda Holler
    10/13/2017

    review rating 5  My children have been taking Tang Soo Do at Pooler Karate for over 3 years. Carson is an amazing instructor and a positive role model.

    thumb Lisa Maxwell Denton
    10/29/2015
  • review rating 5  First day of Krav Maga and I'm completely wore out. I found my new calling. Thank you! #kravmaga

    thumb Gene Schadler
    7/12/2016

    review rating 2  Check out the picture of their truck parked in the handicapped parking ramp so the wheelchairs can't get on to the sidewalk. WTOC John Logano's Face book page!

    thumb Margaret Roberts
    3/22/2015

    review rating 5  They are great with my kids, I have nothing but good things to say.

    thumb Jordan Carr
    1/31/2018

    review rating 5  Love this place! I would definitely recommend! The staff is great in the lil ninjas class and so patient with the kids!

    thumb Sarah Martin
    4/26/2016

    review rating 5  My son enjoys it

    thumb Jimmy Huang
    2/01/2018

    review rating 5  My son loves it here. They go above and beyond with everyone, not just the students. I have never been in a place where the instructors come and shake everyone's hand to say hello, every single day! The instructors each bring a unique personality to the place but ALL share a common love of truly helping better people. I recently moved an hour away and am dragging my feet about pulling my son when time comes but truth be told, I may just grit and bear the hour long drive to keep my son in what works!

    thumb Simone Lindo
    3/25/2017

    review rating 0  At first I thought my son wouldn’t follow instructions or that he would be all over the place. But the instructors are wonderful with all the kids, and help them when needed and more importantly are patient with them. Al inició pense que mi hijo no sería capaz de seguir instrucciones o no se estaría quieto. Pero los instructores son grandiosos con ellos, los ayudan cuando lo necesitan y sobre todo son pacientes con ellos.

    thumb Ana Luisa Garcia Sotelo
    2/27/2019

    review rating 5  Our 3 and 4 year old boys are loving the Little Ninja program. They look forward to it every week. The instructors are great with little kids. Not only are they learning karate but also respect, self control, and listening.

    thumb Meghan Diane Jewett
    2/01/2018

    review rating 0  We have been with Carson Fortner’s Pooler karate for almost a year. It has changed our families life for the better. We are healthier enjoying learning martial arts. Our kids have learned so much that have helped them handle situations at school and at home.

    thumb Kristen Marie Tripp
    7/23/2018
  • review rating 0  Wonderful group of instructors that took time to explain techniques & encourage women to protect themselves against potential predators. Great class!!

    thumb Pamela K Gale
    6/01/2019

    review rating 5  Our entire family are students Pooler Karate. We love the entire staff. Everyone is kind and very professional. Coming to Pooler Karate has been one of the best choices we could have made.

    thumb Jamie Reynolds Bouchard
    4/25/2016

    review rating 5  We've been making the drive out to Carson Fortner's Karate from Whitmarsh Island for almost a year now and cannot say how much we love him and his whole team. We never thought about Karate as an option till one of our friends suggested the free trial. One class and our daughter was completely hooked. She has become such an empowered little girl and responds really well to the discipline that he instills in them. We've continued his teachings of respect and self confidence at home and have seen an improvement in her behavior. She looks forward to going to Karate and practicing her moves at home. I cannot recommend taking your child to his studio and reaping the benefits that come with it.

    thumb Dawn Cahill Brosnan
    3/15/2017

    review rating 5  It is such a great facility for the children!!!!! The staff is amazing and they can have fun in class but also teach discipline at the same time! It is exactly what my son needed and he cannot wait to go to class every week.

    thumb Kassie Pasztor-Jones
    4/26/2016

    review rating 5  Mr Carson Fortner and his staff are undoubtedly the best in Savannah. Not only are they great with the kids they truly care for their students and our community. In our time here at Pooler Karate we have seen incredible positive changes in our kids. Their confidence and self assurance has increased exponentially.

    thumb Fernando Sanchez
    4/20/2016

    review rating 5  My son absolutely loves going to karate here and Carson and the whole staff are always so pleasant and go out if the way to make you feel welcome!We're so thankful for the special needs program.It has blessed our son so much!!

    thumb Anita Colleen Akins Bubnich
    5/02/2017

    review rating 5  Carson and his staff are all amazing. The patience they have in their little ninjas is incredible. I signed my daughter up expecting it to be along the lines of an exercise or gym type setting of karate because she is two. I had no idea they would actually be able to keep her attention and really teach a toddler karate!

    thumb Patrice Ryan
    1/30/2018

    review rating 0  We have been having trouble with my son listening at school. He is in Mr. Jerry’s BJJ class and I spoke to Jerry about it. Jerry actually talked to him and had a real conversation about it. He cares about his students and is wonderful with them. 100 percent recommend his class. We love being apart of this family.⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️⭐️

    thumb Christina Jamison
    8/28/2019

    review rating 5  Carson Fortner is amazing! He has such great patience and is very skilled in his teaching. I was very impressed with Carson's ability to guide and connect with my special needs child.

    thumb Rachael Rogers
    6/18/2014